I am actually working in the field!  It has been about a year and a half since I went “on rotation” and got to record prehistoric sites for 10 days straight.  It is also the first time I’ve had the chance to work in southern Utah, and this landscape is just so amazingly gorgeous.  Red rocks!  And striped buttes!  And cool sandstone formations!

This is day four of the rotation, and it’s the first day I remembered to bring my camera along with me.  I completely forgot to use my camera to record the cool lanceolate projectile point I found at the second site, but fortunately we had lunch at Flat Top, and I went crazy taking pictures of the landscape around me.  I got so wrapped up in it, I shot a lot of pics out the window on the way back into town, too.  So, in the next five or so days, I’ll try harder to take pictures of archaeology, instead of geology, since that’s what I’m out here doing.  *smile*  But in the meantime, here are some of the things I saw today:

my lunch spot

dramatic tree

dramatic rock

slipped

texture

for T

I couldn't resist...

on the way home

