This blog claims that I cook, and yet, I have been doing very little real cooking recently.  If I’m feeling really organized, I’ll make T grill a piece of meat while I steam some veggies and throw together a pre-packaged noodle or rice side dish.

But last night I wanted to really cook.  Nothing super extravagant, just good, real food from scratch.  And I wanted to take pictures and blog about it.

tri tip, savory squash, and Good Eats cabbage

Yeah, that’s the quick picture I took with my cell phone before I started scarfing it down.  I know, it’s tiny.  That’s because it’s out of focus.  I was hungry and wanted to eat it, and I have no idea where my real camera and tripod are packed, so I didn’t take much time getting a good picture.  So much for presentation being as important as the food, huh?  *smile*

The steak was tri tip, marinated in soy, ginger, garlic and lime, and grilled expertly by T.

The cabbage was a recipe from Alton Brown on Good Eats.  Apparently, it was his mom’s recipe, called “shred head, butter and bread.”  You shred a head of cabbage, and boil in water with 1 tbsp. of sugar for 2-3 minutes.  While that’s going, you brown 1/2 stick of butter, 1/2 cup of crushed seasoned croutons, 2 pinches dry mustard, 1 tsp caraway seed (which I hate and don’t have, so I leave it out), and 1 tsp of salt.  Drain the cabbage, and toss with the brown butter and crouton dressing.  Yummy.

The squash was something I typically have a little difficulty with — it never seems to cook all the way in the time I have allotted.  It was a small Hubbard squash that I quartered the long way, then baked at 375 degrees for 45 min in a baking dish with a little water in the bottom, skin side down.  I scooped out the flesh, mashed it with several tablespoons of butter, and then divided it into two parts.  One half I seasoned with brown sugar, ground ginger and a little cinnamon, and a pinch of salt.  The other half I seasoned with sauteed onions and garlic, and about a teaspoon of salt.  T got the sweet squash, I got the savory.  Mmmm!

The only problem with dinner?  I think I added a tablespoon of salt to the cabbage, instead of a teaspoon, because it was too salty to eat. Which was a bummer.  And there was a tense minute or five when I realized I couldn’t find the box with the tin foil in it, so that I could cover the baking squash.  Turns out, it was sitting in the kitchen all along.  *blush*

